Alfred Sutton Primary School has been serving the Reading community for over one hundred years since being first established in 1902. The school first opened as Wokingham Road School with just over a hundred children attending on the first day. Sutton and Sons, the world largest seed firm at the time, subsidised building the school. This generous act of the Sutton family lead to it being renamed Alfred Sutton Central School in 1920, in memory of one of Sutton’s sons, Alfred.
The school remained very popular. By the mid-1920s, there were 528 children in attendance, which meant there was about 50 to a class! Pupils attended wearing maroon caps and blazers. By 1933, the school moved to new premises on Crescent Road. In 1955, it was renamed Alfred Sutton Boys’ Secondary School and a separate school was created on Cumberland Road for girls.
During the 1960s and 1970s, the vibrant culture of the school evolved and grew with the arrival of families from South Asia and the Caribbean, and the expansion of the nearby University of Reading brought visiting academics and their families to the area from many parts of the world.
In 1973, the boys’ school became a comprehensive before closing in 1986. After the closure of the secondary schools, Alfred Sutton was re-established as the primary school it is today.